Hi, I am William

A bit about me.  I grew up in the low land swampy woods of North Central Florida, near the town of Cross Creek, Florida, to be more exact.  My Dad was sort of a tenant farmer who worked one of my Uncle Harry’s farms.  On the 240 acres carved out of the swampy woods, we enjoyed about 8 fields (one of which our house sat in the middle of), in which we usually had a herd of about 100 or so cattle, raised for beef, three to four horses which we rode, and one to three milk cows.  As animals rotated from “our” farm to Uncle Harry’s farm, the numbers changed, the numbers shown being a range or maximum number.  In the field that our house sat in, we also had around five thousand laying hens and ran a full commercial egg selling business.

When I completed my tenth grade of school, Uncle Harry had to sell the farm and we moved into a Jim Walter built home in Fort McCoy, Florida.  I planned to be a pastor upon completion of High School, but the Viet Nam “war” was raging and I joined the military to do my fair share at age 17.  I was going to try to get into the Marines, but a fellow high school graduate convinced me to join the Navy.  Nearly 24 years later, I retired as a Navy Master Chief Sonar Technician.

When I was in college earning my BA degree, I learned to keep a journal.  I found this a marvelous way to put down ideas and important events, at that time about my growth in the disciplines I studied, and later, about my goals in life.

One of my main goals at this time is to write my novel. I am writing a novel about a knight, a warrior maiden, and a mind reading, fire breathing, flying, graceful dragon.  It is set in the South Western toe of England, just below Wales, and at the time right after the last Roman legion left and after King Arthur reined.

For nearly ten years, I have kept a writing blog/journal at a writing site I just left.  This is my new blog/journal site.

Some of the main things that I wrote in my blog were:  My daily writing events, breakthroughs or things which kept me from writing at the time; the results of my studies on writing, which often was a sort of critique or what I had learned from various writing books; and some of my writing as my mind developed new poetry or prose.  Well, I also digressed at times and spoke on events in life which could lead to story ideas or emotions and such which are feelings that writing can spring from.

In this blog, I intend to bring over some of my past blog entries as well as post new and fresh material.  Old entries are still platforms to build new entries from.  I have learned a lot and I want to put that knowledge here rather than in a storage space to waste away.  I have plenty of time to juggle and work on that.  I do not want to hoard old data and I never want the old to get in the way of my forward progress.

I really don’t know what I have gotten into yet and I know this is all experimental.  Still, I am hoping that this is it, my final blogging ground.  Will I be read or will I be just writing to myself?  I don’t know yet, but I shall continue my blog.  Worse case scenario is that this doesn’t work as planned and that I have to move on.

But, I will not borrow trouble from tomorrow that may not materialize.  So, I boldly go forth and write where I have never written before!

5 thoughts on “Hi, I am William

  1. It’s a small world! I grew up in Jacksonville. Live in Orlando now.

    Re-posting some of your old blogs sounds like a great idea. Just pick your favorites and space them out, and you’ll have lots of good content up here before you know it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Rn,
      I am so glad I ran into you at Scrobo. As I get involved in blogging at WordPress, I have you to thank. I am so looking forward to this.
      I am on vacation for a week, and then I plan to do a lot more. 🙂

      Like

  2. Welcome to blogging again. 🙂
    Your accomplishments are very impressive.
    I enjoyed reading the story of your life.
    My Grandmother actually wants to have your childhood, living in a farm, and taking care of animals.
    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

